In order to ensure that commissioned services are of a high quality and meet the needs of the local population, the CCG has a responsibility to ensure that specific performance standards are achieved. This involves monitoring the performance of all providers of care to any individual registered with a General Practitioner in the Bury area.

NHS Constitution

Many of the performance standards are specified within the NHS Constitution and are split into the following main categories:

  • Planned Care
    • Referral to treatment waiting times for non-urgent consultant-led treatment
    • Cancelled operations
    • Diagnostic test waiting times
  • Urgent Care
    • Accident and Emergency (A&E) waits
    • Ambulance waits for emergency calls
  • Cancer Care
    • Waiting times (2 weeks, 31 days and 62 days)
  • Mental Health
    • Follow-up upon inpatient discharge for patients on Care Programme Approach

On a monthly basis, performance against key NHS Constitution standards and other measures either amended or introduced as part of the annual planning process is reported to the CCG’s Quality and Performance Committee. This Committee is chaired by a lay member and ensures that performance is scrutinised and challenged as appropriate. In line with the CCG’s governance structure, the Quality and Performance Committee then reports up to the Governing Body.

NHS Outcomes Framework (NHSOF)

Assurance reviews of the CCG itself are undertaken on a regular basis by NHS England & NHS Improvement (NHSE/I) as part of the NHSOF.  Such reviews involve NHSE/I analysing performance data in addition to undertaking quarterly assurance visits to which colleagues from local partner organisations are also invited to attend. These meetings provide an opportunity to discuss any identified areas of concern where the CCG might be an outlier when compared to other CCGs across Greater Manchester. Equally, however, these meetings provide an opportunity to discuss positive initiatives in order that best practice can be shared across the region.

Under the NHSOF, the CCG is assessed against a set of indicators, performance against which is published on a quarterly basis.  Upon publication, these too are reported into the CCG’s Quality and Performance Committee and Governing Body.  The indicators are grouped into the following five domains:

  • Domain 1: Preventing people from dying prematurely
  • Domain 2: Enhancing quality of life for people with long-term conditions
  • Domain 3: Helped people to recover from episodes of ill health or following injury
  • Domain 4: Ensuring that people have a positive experience of care
  • Domain 5: Treating and caring for people in a safe environment and protecting them from avoidable harm

Following the end of each financial year, each CCG receives ratings for overall performance, quality of leadership and financial management.  In the latest ratings, the CCG was rated as ‘green’ in each area.